Gremlins Online!

Your home for all things Gremlins

Changes, Lack Of Updates, Lack Of things to be said?

Heyas all!

The last few months have been incredibly quiet on the Gremlins front, but surprisingly busy in my personal life, including my son turning 1, and moving to a new home.

Sadly, the momentum from the BT Gremlins ad seems to have died down and so have the rumors of Gremlins 3 yet again. This doesn’t mean that there isn’t one in the works, but that there isn’t anything being said.

There is some great news though, Zach Galligan’s newest film, Let Them Chirp Awhile, is finally being brought to Netflix! Be sure to queue it up and take a peek at a great film!

The promises of new gremlins products in the marketplace by the end of the year seem to be unlikely, since there hasn’t been anything beyond a few variations on t-shirt designs and whatnot.

Finally, I have done some long and hard thinking about the direction of Gremlins Online.
Don’t worry the site isn’t going anywhere. A couple months without news is par for the course for Gremlins, and as the 25th anniversary of the original film approaches, we probably will see a new version of Gremlins released, but after that? Who knows?
 That being said, I am considering expanding Gremlins Online to include more things of interest to those who might enjoy Gremlins…Ok who am I kidding? I am really considering adding more content of things I personally enjoy. Things I find neato and weird. The core of the site will still be Gremlins, but my goal is to keep up regular content, which is becoming difficult for our favorite (soon to be) 25 & 18 year old movies exclusively.

So expect to see more. More what? I don’t quite know yet, but comment, tell me what you want. Maybe we will even get those awesome forums I keep getting emails about!

I will say this, the site will not become a cookie-cutter random nostalgia site or anything. In all reality one of my favorite blogs is X-entertainment which I consider the most awesome blog ever, because of Matt’s approach to storytelling. So while I am not going to encroach on his market, I do hope to include some articles that are focused on things like: “WOAH I FOUND THIS THING!” and my excitement at shiny objects. Plus, I love weird things. I love reviewing things that probably don’t need to be reviewed. I also have no qualifications to post anything about anything, but hey, this is the internet! 

I also tend to get over-excited about strange things, and want to share that with you, the unwitting public!

Get Ready. Things are about to get….weird.

3 responses to “Changes, Lack Of Updates, Lack Of things to be said?

  1. shane December 18, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    be nice to have an area where ppl can share their collection, pics and what not.

  2. Aelia December 17, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Sounds like some interesting developments are underway, and I look forward to seeing them! It would be great to see some more new content on here… I love the writing style on X-entertainment, stuff like that would be awesome 😀
    Looks like a couple of Jun Planning items that have been in the works for a long time are due out soon, but you’ve already posted about them (like that Stripe doll with all the candy, said to come out on December 19th of this year, and the Gizmo sitting on the pillow possibly January 12th, 2009)… maybe there will be more merchandise to accompany the 25th anniversary! 🙂

  3. Sacha Feiner December 10, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Well; I don’t really agree about “things not moving” in the gremlins field… There was the BIGGEST gremlins prop auction EVER. All hero props from gremlins 2, 12 props in the lot including all mogwaïs and hero gremlins.
    Also, the Gremlins merchandising and fandom is really not a dry source… classic or rare Gremlins toy reviews, talks about rare props or SFX creators who currently resculpt the original Walas Design, and so on… There are so many things to review, and I’m really afraid adding other subjects to the site will cause its loss. I trust you of course, but it is the ONLY gremlins news site and it is famous for that reason…
    By the way, I’ve been willing to answer to your questions for an interview (about recent Gremlins stuff, my fan film WAS the topic) but I never got them… Other sites asked me for interviews but I really wanted to be published on yours… I’m still ready!!
    The fan film IS going to be added to the next DVD release! My agent is setting things up with Warner.
    Joe Dante says: http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=43803737
    Looking forward to hear from you,
    Sacha – Gremlins Fan Film

Leave a Reply

