Gremlins Online!

Your home for all things Gremlins

How to Gremlinize your holidays!

After having my yearly Christmastime viewing of Gremlins, (a traditon I have had since I was a young tater tot) I realized that many people may not have any ideas on how to incorporate Gremlins into their holdiay merriment.

Note: If you are like Kate, and don’t celebrate christmas, well then just think of these as fun ways to spend this wintery season…

1. Watch Gremlins. (Preferrably with someone who hasn’t seen it, or with family)
This one is a no-brainer. It has everything you could want in a christmas movie, Scroogey Mrs Deagle, eggnog addicted cops, Snowplows crashing through WWII Vet’s homes, and santa with a Gremlin on his back!
Ok, well maybe those aren’t the greatest examples of why Gremlins is an uplifting holiday film, but the movie really reminds us that we should be thankful for what we have, and remember each day is a gift. Things could change with a drop of water, a scrap of food, or a wrong move while coming down a chimney on Christmas eve.
If you don’t own Gremlins yet, rent it, or better yet, buy it! The special edition can be found all over fora reasonable price, and is well worth it!

2. Make Gremlins or Mogwai Cookies!
Find an elf cookie cutter,and modify it slightly, (stars work well for the triangle-like ears.)
Make your favorite type of cookies, cut them out, and then add green or brown icing, and cinnamon drops for eyes 🙂

(More ideas after the break!)

3. Go Gremlin Hunting.
One evening with some friends, get all bundled up, grab a camera and some flashlights. Go out to a local park (making sure there is a decent bed of snow) and see if you can prove or disprove the existance of our green reptilian friends.

4. Give someone the Gift of Gizmo
I actually did this myself last year, and it felt fantastic! There is a good amount of Gizmo related merchandise out there, especially at the more “trendy” retailers such as Hot Topic, Torrid, MakeAscenE, Spencer Gifts, and others. Right now the Gizmo pillow is in pretty good supply, and I have been told that the Gizmo backpack has been spotted out there as well! There are shirts and patches and pins, so what are you waiting for? Get that special someone a Gizmo!

5. Write a Gremlins Christmas carol.
No, not a story with stripe as Ebeneezer Scrooge, but a christmas song with a gremliny vibe to it!
If you send them here, I will gladly throw them up on the site! (bonus points if you actually sing the song and send me the audio file!)

These are just a few ways that you can make the holidays a bit greener, if you think of any more, share them with us!

4 responses to “How to Gremlinize your holidays!

  1. JP Cupertino January 2, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    John, that is great to hear that I am not the only gremlins freak out there that watches it specifically on/around Christmas. I have been doing this now for at least a decade, much to the annoyance of some friends and family…

    Vince, I added the video to the front page and will add it to the vault soon! I love all your videos, keep up the great work!! Let me know if you ever do anything else Gremlins related.

  2. Vince December 25, 2006 at 6:50 am

    Hello there!

    I have to say I love this site, and I’ve been a Gremlins fan from childhood. And for this Christmas I made a special X-Mas Video: You can see it at YouTube:

    Have a merry Christmas and a happy new-year!

  3. John Walsh December 24, 2006 at 6:12 am

    I came to the conclusion I need to make watching Gremlins a Christmas tradition, and now I see you’ve come to the same conclusion. I think it’s an awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

